The Alternative

Posted on September 9, 2008

8


I ran into my favourite partner in the hallway at work the other day and he said, “Is this sad news I hear true? You’re leaving?”

“Yes,” I said.

“But why?”

I leaned forward confidentially. “I hate corporate law. Mish howa da elly ana 3ayza a3mello.”

“But I don’t quite understand what you’re going to go and do,” he continued.

“I took a job as the editor of a magazine,” I explained. “You should write for it!”

“Which one?”

“It’s called Alter Ego.”

He brightened perceptibly, and I smiled, assuming that he knew of it.

“You know, alter ego is a concept in private international law. It’s the application of something something private parties.”

“Maybe you could write about that! I know we are interested in such things…” I trailed off.

He shook my hand. “When are you leaving?”

“End of the month.”

“Ah lessa…tab haselem 3aleiki sa3etha ba2a.”

Following the dream. And while it is true that following said dream (one of my dreams) will involve freelancing and translating to keep sushi on the table, I’m super excited about it. It’s going to be awesome. You better all read the magazine. And write for it, if you like to/can write.

Posted in: Uncategorized