All things Big and Small

Posted on May 3, 2007

6


I’ve been reading Overheard in New York a lot this week, and it has made me think I’m hearing much funnier stuff than usual. You know how when you’ve been reading a lot of poetry you feel like you want to talk in rhyme? Or is that just me? Anyway you let me know if I should lay off the OINY because you’re feeling painful twinges in your fun bits:

Background: my friend, the Source, is obsessed with networking, for both social and professional advantage. We have been pressuring him for months now to get Facebook, but he has been declining on the grounds that he knows so many people, it would take up too much of his time. Lately, however, he has been coming around to the idea, and questioning me carefully about what facilities Facebook offers. He likes to be prepared. He plans to use it as the ultimate professional networking tool – he is even planning the groups he is going to create when he does sign up and asking about word limits and invitees, before he’s even created a goddamn account.

Me:

Do you wanna come over to my office and we can set up your Facebook account then?

The Source:

We will work this week on my paragraph and launch it next Thursday.

Me:

You’re crazy! Sometimes you say stuff that needs publishing. Can I publish this on my blog?

The Source:

OK…I just want it to be special.

And on growing up as a Third Culture Kid:

Me:

You’re so not Egyptian-Canadian!

Little Bubbly:

Heheh I am. Because I don’t have citizenship ya3ni?

Me:

Yeah.

Little Bubbly:

Well I don’t think that’s what determines if I am Canadian or not.

Me:

It’s not actually a matter of opinion. Lots of people have lived places ya3nee.

Little Bubbly:

What should I say? I don’t know what I am anymore. If anything…I am not Egyptian. I think I identify mostly with UAS (Universal American School – shite international school in Kuwait. Universal? Come on!).

Me:

Lol! That’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard!

Little Bubbly:

Hehe, you can put it in your blog.

Damn if that’s not almost true, though. I still think growing up in the Gulf is one of the best things that can happen to kid.

Posted in: friends, humour