Five things you don’t know about me

Posted on February 19, 2007

7


Much as I hate tags I have nothing to blog about so will accept one from Faisal, even though I don’t think there are five remaining things readers don’t know about me. And of course your lives will always be a teeny bit empty if you don’t know everything about me.

1. I hate the smells of vanilla and coconut, although I can tolerate the tastes. It particularly bugs me when either of these two scents are used as car fresheners. A guy who had a vanilla-producing little cardboard tree in his car once asked me what I thought of it, and when I informed him that I hate vanilla and only like fruity car scents he said, cryptically, “You’re such an Arab girl.” This, I inferred, was a serious slur on my classiness. Mashy. Of course that guy ended up marrying one of my ilk.

2. I take pride in my accurate throwing-up skills. I always manage to stay completely clean throughout, and I usually manage to find an appropriate receptacle. These skills came to the fore yesterday (food poisoning) when I threw up in:

  • A toilet
  • A sink
  • A potted plant
while friends stood around and maternally handed me tissue and ran water. They also thoughtfully cleared paths to all available exits (and plants). Not a good choice of day for a pale suit and best coat, and dangly favourite necklace – but I emerged completely vomit free! Although I don’t think I’m any thinner.

3. California Dreaming as covered by the Beach Boys is one of my favourite songs.

4. Rhett Butler from Gone with the Wind (the book!) is my ideal man in every respect. Sans moustache of course.

5. I know all the words to I Like Big Butts by Sir Mixalot. E takes great pleasure in playing this in her car just so I can sing (rap?) along, and she especially loves it when I sing the lines “My anaconda don’t want none unless you got buns, hon!” although my anaconda really isn’t bothered.

Posted in: nerdiness