The Corporate whore blog

Posted on October 13, 2006

3


So the new job…suffice it to say that it’s not as bad as I expected. The work isn’t boring, the people are nice, and I don’t have to wear uncomfortable shoes. I have 1/3 of a secretary. However, I am swiftly having to learn legal Arabic – it speaks volumes that in order to leaf through legal dictionaries, I have been compelled to write out the Arabic alphabet on a post-it and tape it to my desk, as having to sing the alphabet in my head to figure out alphabetical order was proving time consuming. It was missing two letters at first, but between an officemate and I, we managed to collect all 28 letters and now I am well on my way to graduating to reading my first clause. Everyone thinks I am the cutest little person alive, and I am constantly being nicknamed and petted and numerous comments on my adorableness have been exchanged. Yesterday, someone actually pinched my cheek! Precisely what one envisions after a seven-year journey into post-secondary education, methinks. Am doing my hair in a bun now – perhaps that will help. If not, the glasses will come into play.

The Tweet will now be known as The Twylet, or The Twizzler. No particular reason for the change, she’s just more of a Twylet/Twizzler now than a Tweet.

Posted in: humour, work