The two days from hell

Posted on August 22, 2006

14


Just to update you on what happened today – major scenes and serious ungratefulness, which I won’t get into here, but suffice it to say I managed to unearth some money from an emergency fund for minors for her. Since it was not on hand today, me and this girl just took the money out of our own pockets and put it in an envelope for her with instructions not to let her come into contact with any lawyers. So I guess her being a total rude bitch paid off, from her point of view.

Tomorrow I go with another client to represent her at the UNHCR; finally, lawyering. People need to understand that most of us are volunteers or get paid very little, and that whatever the international conventions say, this is Egypt. People cannot expect to be treated better than the natives of this country.

Posted in: refugees, work