Farewell Frankie styles

Posted on June 16, 2006

8


Start spreading the news, I’m leaving today.
Don’t want to be a part of it. North York, North York!
I’m done with Downsview, 196A,
Osgoode’s the very heart of it, North York, North York!

I want to wake up far away from wind tunnels and bleak!
To find I’m king of the firm, top of Bay Street!

These Jane-and-Finch blues, are melting away…
I’ll make a brand new start away from grey North York!
If I can make it here, I’ll make it anywhere!
Good bye to you North York, North York!

North York, North York
I want to wake up far away from wind tunnels and bleak!
To find that I’m A number 1, top of the firm, king of Bay Street, A number one…

These little brick blues, are melting away
I’ll make a brand new start away from it, from grey North York!
If I can make it here, I’ll make it anywhere!
Goodbye to you Osgoode, North York!

Many thanks to Erica Tso for combining one of my favourite songs with my very favourite sentiment. And for belting it out in the cabaret show, with a feather boa. Commencement is today…it’s going to be super super boring, fo shizzo. I have been plotting how to sneak in a novel down my pants, under the gown. My last name starts with Z…so there will be no escape before everyone has aged visibly.

I’m gone tomorrow.

*Downsview is the nearest subway station. And by near, I mean 20 minutes away by bus. The bus in question is the 196A. Bay Street is Canada’s Wall Street where I actually have no desire to ever be. Jane and Finch is the ghetto where the university, and my apartment, is located.

Posted in: Canada, law school