Uncharacteristic gushiness

Posted on June 8, 2006

10


For some time now I have been trying to indoctrinate my boyfriend into being pro-Palestinian. He reads everything I send him faithfully, but staunchly, and adamantly, insists that “there’s a lot to be said for both sides”. Sigh. I can’t really say there’s not, you know? Anyway, in the course of his reading one such document from a Canadian organization that I had emailed him, he found out that they were offering Arabic classes. And he signed up for one.
“What sort of Arabic is it?”
“MSA.”
“What the hell is that?”
“Modern Standard Arabic?” He’s got the lingo down already.
“Yeah, that’s not a spoken language actually…you won’t be able to understand a word I say, still.”
“They don’t speak it anywhere?”
“Well, on the news. And also…nope, just on the news.”
“Well, at least you can help me with my homework, right?”

Isn’t that the cutest boyfriendly thing you guys have ever heard? What with his anatomical perfection and everything.

UPDATE: he called to tell me how it went and was all “Ana ismy M. Askon 3ala share3 D.” Bubble with delight (although of course he couldn’t do the 3ein).
It is his opinion, however, that I am alienating readers by telling mushy cute anecdotes about us, whereas people only like to read about unhappy, tortured love affairs.

