In Western parts….

Posted on September 6, 2005

4


I haven’t blogged about the fascinating things that have been occurring lately due to having no internet at my new apartment. In surprisingly third-worldian fashion, they’re can only come set it up on the 22nd, and the telephone on the 4th of October! I bet they get better service in villages in Nepal. I really feel quite ill at the thought of living without the phone, internet or TV until then.

The other night I was out at a bar in downtown Toronto when a curiously bloggable thing happened. My friend left to go to the bathroom and I looked around me and listened to the conversation at the neighbouring table. Egyptian readers are of course aware that Egyptian lore maintains that wiggling your eyebrows at a female is the most effective way of flirting with her and reducing her to her knees. I was dazzled to see that this practice has apparently travelled several thousand miles (and a few decades) because a very pale young man at the neighbouring table wiggled one eyebrow at me. I guess his lack of Egyptianess prevents him from giving me the full two-eyebrow seduction. I hurriedly looked away.

